Graham Writer

Musings of an author.

Book Marketing

2 Comments

Bermuda triangle

Today, I have decided, is the beginning of a journey. I am going to learn how to use social media properly. It’s a long overdue project. Some of the tools are already in place. I have set up my Twitter account and begun to collect followers. My author’s facebook page is up and running. Setting up a Google+ place I have somehow ended up with two and I have no idea how to get rid of the one I don’t want. Ho hum! There is never a small boy about when you need him. Graham’s website is built; I used Wix.com that bit at least was surprisingly easy.

I describe today as the beginning of the journey but it’s a bit of a fib; I’ve been trying to promote my books for several months without much success. 5,000 followers and 1,200 tweets later and it’s clear I’m making a mess of things. Sure, some books are getting sold – about 100 a month – but they were before I started wasting days on social media. It has got to the point where I know I am drowning in a writer’s Bermuda Triangle – apologies for borrowing the image – and can’t find my way out. Don’t get me wrong, I have quite enjoyed interacting with other people. It’s something that writers don’t do enough of but I have been losing sight of the reason I started in the first place. It’s time to get real with myself, to refocus and stop spending hours on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Goodreads and Google+ instead of getting on with something I really enjoy, my writing.

Chairman Mao, who was not a nice man but who said pithy things, wrote, ‘Every journey begins with a single step.’ This blog is my first faltering step into the unknown. Each week I plan to blog a record of my progress, mapping how far I have gone and what has been achieved. Right now, I have no idea what my future blogs will contain except that they will tell the story warts and all. ‘Why am I going public?’ you ask. That’s an easy one to answer. The blog will be what motivates me to carry on, my driver and my compass. Hopefully, it will interest other indie authors who are in the same situation, who want to grow their book sales. If it does, we can share ideas and see if they work together. Feel free to add your thought in the leave a comment box.

‘So here goes,’ says I as I press the publish button and commit these words to the ether, ‘Wish me luck and bon voyage or if you’re feeling adventurous why not join me?’

Author: grahamwriter

Hi. I’m Graham Watkins and I have spent several years researching Welsh legends and myths. It has been a wonderful project and great fun as I explored rugged mountains, mysterious castles, enchanting waterfalls and golden beaches to discover the tales that have been handed down from generation to generation. Wales is a land of mystery and being a Celtic race the Welsh are fantastic story tellers. I've collected eighty of my favourite legends together in my book 'Welsh Legends and Myths.' That’s how I started writing. My first novel 'The Iron Masters' was an historical novel set in Merthyr during the Napoleonic Wars when Merthyr Tydfil was rearming the British Empire, fortunes were being made through other's sweat and anything was possible. Today, I am a multi genre novelist, hobby farmer and explorer. It’s all been great fun and the story isn’t over yet. I've recently published 'A White Man's War,' the story of a terrible siege during which the Scouting movement was born and 'The Sicilian Defence' a novel about a young American Woman lured to Sicily to a terrible fate. All my books are listed on the books page of my website. Right now I'm working on a modern day political thriller in which terrorists, computer programmers and a big brother state fight for their very survival. Oh! And don't forget to click here to join my mailing list for the latest news and stories and receive three free eBooks delivered straight to your inbox.

2 thoughts on “Book Marketing

  1. Welsh legends and myths? Fantastic! Please share more of your journey into the ‘triangle’! I am all for sharing ideas and am busy collecting triangle navigation tools as we speak…
    HJ Blenkinsop
    hjblenkinsop.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  2. People strive so much to reach their destination in life; personally, I don’t know if we ever reach it. But I know that we learn a great deal during our ride in this beautiful, yet tough life. And you, my friend, sound like have gone through quite a journey. Listening to your story made me remember that—we, writers, dreamers—adventurous souls, are not alone in this world. Thank you for sharing your story, and for giving us so much inspiration through your writing. I wish you the best, and I’ll look forward to reading your future posts. Have a great one, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

