Graham Writer

Musings of an author.

Castles in the Air.

Leave a comment

castleinthe air

Some time ago I made a rather pompous statement in this blog. I said that Pinterest was not for me and that I didn’t have time for social media involving pasting pretty pictures. It was a crass thing to write and proves just how naïve I am. Fortunately my circle of friends includes people who are wiser than I and who are prepared to put me right; in no uncertain terms.

Yesterday I was sent a link to a Pinterest board about castles belonging to Carly Compass an author friend of mine in the USA. It was attached to a blog about using Pinterest as a marketing tool. As well as containing some lovely images of castles from around the world the board included a picture of my book Welsh Legends and Myths. I spent some time scrolling through the pictures of castles. Believe me they are worth a look. Then, I began to think, ‘How could I use Pinterest to promote my work?’ One of my books is entitled The Welsh Folly Book. It’s an easy read that tells the secrets, stories and scandals of sixty Welsh Follies. Then, the answer hit me on the head, like a piece of falling masonry. In her blog, Carly said, ‘We are visual creatures and are attracted to visual art form.’

This morning, I started my very first Pinterest board. So far it contains 39 pictures of interesting Welsh Follies, each with a teaser caption to encourage the viewer to learn more. One of the simplest and most peculiar is John Renie’s grave. John was an oddball painter and decorator who decided he needed to trick the Devil in order to get to heaven. To do, so he carved his own headstone.

John Renie's Grave

 

The tombstone is an acrostic puzzle where his name can be read over thirty two thousand of different ways. It must have taken John Renie years to chisel out each letter even if he didn’t slip, make a mistake and have to start afresh. I’ve posted John Renie’s story on my website. Thinking about my social marketing, I feel a bit like John Renie; It’s going to take me years to learn how to complete the job, if I ever will. So there we are. Thanks, Carly, for sending me some castles in the air and teaching this old dog a new trick. I think that’s enough idioms for one day. I have some pictures to pin. If you’re interesting have a look at them and tell me what you think Pinterest. Oh, and the castle in the air at the top of this blog is borrowed from Carly’s Pinterest board. It’s called Swallow Nest and is near Yalta in the Crimea.

Author: grahamwriter

Hi. I’m Graham Watkins and I have spent several years researching Welsh legends and myths. It has been a wonderful project and great fun as I explored rugged mountains, mysterious castles, enchanting waterfalls and golden beaches to discover the tales that have been handed down from generation to generation. Wales is a land of mystery and being a Celtic race the Welsh are fantastic story tellers. I've collected eighty of my favourite legends together in my book 'Welsh Legends and Myths.' That’s how I started writing. My first novel 'The Iron Masters' was an historical novel set in Merthyr during the Napoleonic Wars when Merthyr Tydfil was rearming the British Empire, fortunes were being made through other's sweat and anything was possible. Today, I am a multi genre novelist, hobby farmer and explorer. It’s all been great fun and the story isn’t over yet. I've recently published 'A White Man's War,' the story of a terrible siege during which the Scouting movement was born and 'The Sicilian Defence' a novel about a young American Woman lured to Sicily to a terrible fate. All my books are listed on the books page of my website. Right now I'm working on a modern day political thriller in which terrorists, computer programmers and a big brother state fight for their very survival. Oh! And don't forget to click here to join my mailing list for the latest news and stories and receive three free eBooks delivered straight to your inbox.

Leave a Reply

