Graham Writer

Musings of an author.

I LIKE IT!

1 Comment

facebook_like_button_big1

My Facebook author’s page has been getting regular visitors since I set it up but, last week, I decided to step up a gear and start joining groups which can help promote my work. I have three key books The Iron Masters, Welsh Legends and Myths and The Welsh Folly Book that have Welsh connections and a quick search using Facebook’s search tool revealed several possible groups which looked interesting and had Welsh content. I say several but there are actually seventeen so far and I’m still looking, broadening the search to include similar groups in other areas including ‘historical novels’ and a surprisingly big group ‘Ghosts, the paranormal, supernatural, myths and legends’ with 120,000 members – an ideal potential market for my book Welsh Legends and Myths. So far so good with my new strategy but a key element was missing.

I’ve been playing with various social media tools recently including Hootsuite, Buffer and Mass Planner. What I wanted was a tool to manage my automated posts to the various platforms including Pinterest. In the end I chose Mass Planner and here’s why. It’s an easy piece of software to use, that can run a number of campaigns to different destinations at the same time. The video tutorials are easy to follow and it offers functionality that the others, as far as I could see, do not. For example auto repining, auto retweeting which is controllable, auto following and unfollowing – that function alone saves me hours of prating about and there are many other useful tools. So many, in fact, that I’m still learning about them.

social-media

Last Saturday I loaded up 25 different posts and launched two campaigns each sending one post a day to the different groups I had selected in Facebook, Google+ and Twitter. I’ve also set up auto follow and repining on Pinterest. On Sunday, I checked on Amazon and had a very pleasant surprise, my daily eBook sales of the three titles had doubled. I’m still growing my LinkedIn contact list but, when I’m ready, it will have it’s own campaign to promote my business books Exit Strategy , How to Sell Ice to Eskimos and Birth of a Salesman again run through Mass Planner. At a stroke, I have the capacity to manage far more activity on social media and on more platforms because I can integrate them and save duplication. I feel like I have taken a big step forward.

Talking about likes, I have sometimes wondered if there was a group where authors can swap likes and, guess what, while searching for groups, quite by accident, I found one. It’s called ‘Authors – Like For A Like (Amazon & FB)‘ and has nearly 3000 members. I joined. To begin with, I found the group dynamic a bit confusing but it works and my Facebook likes are ticking upwards nicely. So commenting on what new social media tricks I’ve learned and put into practice this week I can only say, ‘I LIKE IT.’

Author: grahamwriter

Hi. I’m Graham Watkins and I have spent several years researching Welsh legends and myths. It has been a wonderful project and great fun as I explored rugged mountains, mysterious castles, enchanting waterfalls and golden beaches to discover the tales that have been handed down from generation to generation. Wales is a land of mystery and being a Celtic race the Welsh are fantastic story tellers. I've collected eighty of my favourite legends together in my book 'Welsh Legends and Myths.' That’s how I started writing. My first novel 'The Iron Masters' was an historical novel set in Merthyr during the Napoleonic Wars when Merthyr Tydfil was rearming the British Empire, fortunes were being made through other's sweat and anything was possible. Today, I am a multi genre novelist, hobby farmer and explorer. It’s all been great fun and the story isn’t over yet. I've recently published 'A White Man's War,' the story of a terrible siege during which the Scouting movement was born and 'The Sicilian Defence' a novel about a young American Woman lured to Sicily to a terrible fate. All my books are listed on the books page of my website. Right now I'm working on a modern day political thriller in which terrorists, computer programmers and a big brother state fight for their very survival. Oh! And don't forget to click here to join my mailing list for the latest news and stories and receive three free eBooks delivered straight to your inbox.

One thought on “I LIKE IT!

  1. Thanks Graham, I had not heard of MassPlanner, but have now. It’s very useful and I have also ‘Liked’ your Facebook page…feel the love. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

