Graham Writer

Musings of an author.

Truth and fiction – The Unexploded Man

Leave a comment

Watching recent events in the world can be quite disturbing but the real world is also a great source of ideas. Consider this – The Russian Bear is stirring. After years of economic sanctions, isolation and rejection by the West, Russia is on the offensive. The Crimea is annexed and the West does nothing. Russian militias have occupied Eastern Ukraine while NATO, paralysed and impotent, looks on.

Supported by Russia, a brutal proxy war continues in Syria driving millions of refugees towards Western Europe, destabilising country after country. The very fabric of the European Union faces collapse as soldiers string barbed wire across the continent. ‘So what is really going on?’ we ask ourselves as we watch Jon Snow on Channel 4 News and the, seemingly endless, stream of people fleeing the fighting. Who is really responsible for these terrible events and why are they doing it? Not easy questions to answer. Of course we all have an opinion. What, I wonder, if there is a master plan at work? A scheme so dastardly that it would be difficult to comprehend and Britain is a key target in a war we don’t even know we’re fighting.

UEM cover 2small

In Britain, the political classes are under attack. Dissidents who dare to speak out are murdered. Remember Litvinenko, killed with radioactive poison and there are others. The political landscape is changing. Helped by unseen forces, unilateral disarmers are gaining power in Westminster. Don’t believe me? Think Jeremy Corbyn. “If elected I will never, under any circumstances, use a nuclear weapon,” promises the leader of the British Opposition and the people love him for it.

No man knew more about the character flaws of certain members of Parliament than journalist David Barnett. These flaws could be exploited to undermine Britain’s security, but Barnett was always professionally discreet – right up to the moment when he was found murdered. Barnett is The Unexploded Man. A Political Warfare Thriller I’m publishing on the 22nd March. Pre-order copies are now available.

Author: grahamwriter

Hi. I'm Graham Watkins and I have spent the last few years researching welsh legends and myths. It has been a wonderful project and great fun as I explored rugged mountains, mysterious castles, enchanting waterfalls and golden beaches to discover the tales that have been handed down from generation to generation. Wales is a land of mystery and being a Celtic race the Welsh are fantastic story tellers. Earlier in my life, I was a ships engineer and traveled across the world. When I got married I had a choice; return to sea or stay home with my new bride. I stayed and went into sales. In 1989 I started my own company and it prospered. I sold the business in 2003 and, with my wife, ran away to a rambling farmhouse high in the Brecon Beacons. I learnt a lot selling the business and decided to write a book about how I did it. That's how I started writing. Today, I am a writer, hobby farmer and explorer. It's all been great fun and the story isn't over yet. My latest book 'Birth of a Salesman' has just been published and there are more to follow. Watch out for 'Blood and Dragons - The History of Carmarthenshire and the Gower.' My current project 'The Iron Masters', is an historical novel, my first, chronicling the life of Nye Vaughn, a farm boy who becomes the most powerful arms manufacturer in the world. His cannon enabled Nelson to win the Battle of Trafalgar and cleared the field of French infantry at Waterloo.

Leave a Reply

